Food and Scales…and Puppy Dog “Tales”

Welcome to my new blog.  I’m so excited to be able to share my adventures with you.  I look forward to chronicalling my food ideas/meals, my exercise routines and goals, and my family musings.  In a house filled with boys (yes, Andy is included in that) I’m sure I’ll have lots of “puppy dog tales” to share.  My focus will be how I balance all of these aspects of my life as a working mom.  Let’s get started…..

Apple picking

My philosophy with most things in life is MODERATION!  I think this is where you obtain balance in your life.  Let’s focus on healthy eating for example.  I love to make sure that most things that I eat are good for me in some way.  But, I certainly don’t want to exclude the “desserts” of life.  Take last night for example.  I really wanted to enjoy a cocktail when I got home from work.  So, after re-filling sippy cups, passing out snacks for the boys, letting the dogs out, taking off my heels and putting down my purse (yes, it was in that order) I poured myself what I was really craving….

Skinny Girl Margarita

A small pour of Bethenny Frankle’s Skinny Girl Margarita on the rocks with some salt on the rim.  Yum…it hit the spot!  It was exactly what I was craving, but I didn’t need a huge glass.  And if you haven’t guessed it already, I’m a huge fan of Bethenny’s book, “Naturally Thin“.  I got more out of this book, then almost any other weight loss/diet book I’ve read to date.  If you haven’t read it, I suggest that you do ASAP.  It’s geared toward moderation and balance (like balancing your checkbook), but I think it can be applied to other areas of your life as well.  So, I balanced this wonderful cocktail with a healthy meal.

Fresh eastern shore corn on the cob (with butter and sea salt), roasted fresh green beans in olive oil (seasoned with sea salt and pepper), and lemon herb marinated turkey breast done on the grill.  So good!  By the way…notice “Butter Boy” in the background of this photo.  What a fabulous invention.  I don’t know how I used to butter corn on the cob without him. 

So, I hope that you follow me on my journey to lead a more balanced life.  Please stop by and say hello.

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “Food and Scales…and Puppy Dog “Tales”

  1. I, too, believe in moderation in all things…our lives would be so much more balanced–and rewarding!! Look forward to being inspired by this blog:)

  2. Paj

    Welcome to the blog world. Looking forward to see what else you have to say. I agree with the moderation part so far!

  3. Hi, thanks for commenting on my blog! Look forward to reading more of yours :) Love all the cute red hair on your kiddos!

Leave a Reply

