A is for Apple; BS is for……

Butternut Squash.  YUM….I have found a new love.  I roasted my first butternut squash this evening and I couldn’t believe how good it was. 

DSC_0117

Roasted at 400 degrees for 30 minutes (flipping halfway through).  I only seasoned it with salt, pepper, and a bit of olive oil and white pepper.  I decided to turn it into Jenna’s Curried Butternut Squash soup, however I ate a few chunks right out of the oven…that’s when I started making ooohing and aghhhing noises and the boys came running to see what I drooling over.  I actually cut back on the curry in the soup because I wanted the boys to eat it.

DSC_0129

DSC_0130_01 

They loved it and so did I.  I have leftovers and I’m having some for lunch tomorrow.  I think this would be so charming served in a hallowed out mini pumpkin for a harvest party. 

We ate it with mini Halloween shaped sandwiches…ghosts and pumpkins.  The boys had peanut butter and jelly.

DSC_0125

I had a new favorite – cream cheese and sliced cucumbers.  I left my crust on because I was quite hungry. 

DSC_0123

We had some happy plates….

DSC_0133_02

Now for the apple part.  It’s a tradition for us to go apple picking.  We’ve done it since Sam was little.

Apple Picking Oct 2007 002

IMG_1023

We hope to still go this year, but our schedule is super tight with soccer practice and church.  However, Sam and I went to a local farm stand and bought a bushel of apples to make apple sauce.

DSC_0061

Aren’t they beautiful?

I peeled and cored 8 apples and cut them into small pieces. 

DSC_0064

I added them to a pot with 1/2 cup sugar, 1 cup of apple cider, and 1 cinnamon stick.  I simmered for 15 minutes covered.  I then uncovered and continued to simmer for 5 more minutes.  This makes the house smell so good! 

DSC_0072

Once it’s finished, take a potato masher and mash until you get it to the consistency that you like.  I always make a few batches of this.  I keep some in the refrigerator and I freeze some for later.  My boys are huge apple sauce eaters!  They decided to try out this first batch warm from the stove with a bit of cinnamon sprinkled on top.  It helped to warm them up on a chilly evening while they played in their playhouse.

DSC_0077

I see some lip licking!!!!!  That’s good enough for me! 

Check out Chelsey’s awesome give away today!

6 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

6 responses to “A is for Apple; BS is for……

  1. roasting squash is the best EVER. really though, it’s what made me fall in love with squash all over again! yum :)

  2. Hey lady!! Thanks for coming to my blog!! It gave me the oppurtunity to come visit yours which is just lovely!!

    Halloween is my favorite holiday and those ghost p&b sandwiches are THE CUTEST!!!!

    Your boys are just the *cutest*!! I love all the pictures. And now you made me hungry….damnit!! ;)

    I look forward to following you!!

    • Hi Suzi….thank you! I’m new at this blogging thing, but I love it…so much fun. I know, I’m hungry all day b/c of all the great food I see on blogs. But hey, I’m not complaining. Ha! I look forward to following you as well!

  3. I think I’m going to have to give that Curry Butternut Squash soup a try – I have one more Butternut Squash in the pantry calling my name (repeatedly).

    And though I don’t have kids, my hubby is a HUGE Halloween fan and would get a kick out of the pumpkin and ghost-shaped PBJ’s. Great idea.

    BTW..welcome to blogging. You’ve jumped right in with some good posts …I’m glad I visited. I agree..it’s a ton a fun.

Leave a Reply

