All Time Favorite Cookies!

69039_1477247443402_1000215850_31083883_3699600_n

Andy and I attended a beautiful wedding on Friday night.  The venue was beautiful.  It was in an old barn-type building that was huge.  The cake was probably the best part.  Buttercream icing.  Sweet…just like it should be. 

Another one of my favorite sweet indulgences is Giada De Laurentis’ Hazelnut Chocolate Chip Cookies.  I started making these a few years ago, after reading rave reviews and I’ve been making them ever since. 

Hazelnut Chocolate Chip Cookies

1/2 cup old fashioned oats

2 1/4 cups flour

1 tsp baking powder

1 tsp baking soda

1/2 tsp salt

1 cup unsalted butter (at room temperature)

1 cup (packed) light brown sugar

1 cup sugar

2 large eggs

1 tsp vanilla extract

4 oz English toffee candy (I used Heath) finely chopped

1 cup Hazelnuts, toasted, husked, and chopped

1 12 ounce bag of semisweet chocolate chips

Preheat oven to 325 degrees. 

Toast hazelnuts until slightly brown.  I did mine directly on the stovetop and it worked just fine.  I then chopped mine in my magic bullet. 

DSC_0219

Chop oats in a food processor.  Add oats, flour, baking powder and soda, and salt to a medium sized bowl.  In a larger bowl combine the sugars and butter and mix until fluffy.  Add the eggs and vanilla.  Add the flour mixture and stir until just blended.  Stir in the toffee, hazelnuts, and chocolate chips. 

DSC_0220

Drop 1 rounded Tbsp of dough onto cookie sheet spacing each cookie about 1 inch apart.  Bake for 15 minutes.  Allow to cool slightly on the cookie sheet for about 5 minutes.  Remove and let cool completely on a wire rack. 

DSC_0222

These are delicious!  My favorite part is that they are so moist and chewy….probably the toffee candy.  My favorite way to eat them is to warm them for about 7 seconds in the microwave and eat with a glass of milk or dunk them into my tea at night. 

While the boys did a little fall yard work

DSC_0226

 

DSC_0227

I got busy making dinner. 

It was a bit chilly this evening, so we tried Jenna’s Creamy White Chicken Chili recipe with some French bread warmed in the oven.  Jenna’s right on with this recipe.  It was very good.  A bit spicy, but the sour cream seemed to cut the spice a bit.  Don’t get me wrong…I LOVE spice, the boys…not so much! 

DSC_0231

DSC_0230

Andy even loved this one and he’s a picky eater.  We all went back for seconds and I have just enough left for lunch tomorrow.  Try this one if you haven’t already! 

I’m about to cuddle with the boys and sip some chai tea to accompany another one of those fabulous hazelnut cookies.  Nite!

DSC_0223

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “All Time Favorite Cookies!

  1. oh boy…anything Giada makes….I’m a fan.
    I think I love to cook because of her. Hands down!

    so I guess, as soon as my sugar ban is lifted, I am making these (note to self, better get some toffee bars…) the rest I probably have on hand. Cookie addict that I am!

    PRETTY dress you are wearing! I love the collar. My husband and I got married in an old school house. I bet the wedding you went too was was lovely!!!!

    I made enchiladas the other night a skosh too spicy.

    I have to take them to work when I do that…but in my defense the can of sauce said “Mild”.
    don’t know what mild means to Mexico…but in our home it means edible! haha

    Happy Tuesday!

    • Hi Cindy…I know, I’ve had the same thing happen with mild salsas, sauces, etc. It’s bad when one of your babies first phrases is “Spicy?”. He used to ask that before eating anything…even sweet things. Ha! I know, I love that dress. I borrowed it from my sister…think she got it at Nordstroms. So comfy, too. Try those cookies when you get a chance girl…you will LOVE them. I have one packed for dessert today. :)

  2. I saw Giada make those cookies too and have put them on my to-do list! Your boys are so cute.

Leave a Reply

