To Run or Not To Run….

That’s what I’ve been struggling with lately.  This summer was the first time in years that I did not have a set exercise routine.  And because of that I really fell off the exercise wagon.  I actually lost weight, but I honestly didn’t feel nearly as good as I do when I’m doing something consistently.  However there’s just something about fall that rejuvenates me and motivates me to set a goal.  I don’t know if it’s the crisp air, the leaves changing or all the apple pie, but I start to feel like a kid again.

IMG_1139

I’ve mentioned the local 5K Turkey Trot that’s in our area every Thanksgiving.  I think I’ve finally made the commitment…I’m going to do it.  And now I’m really going to do it, since I just made this public and all.  The last time I ran it was about 3 years ago…right before I got pregnant with Logan.

Turkey Trot - 1st 5K Thanksgiving 2007 003

Yep, that’s me…smoking some old guy in 2007!  ;)  I finished with a time of 29:35.  Not bad for my first 5K and I had only been running for about 8 weeks.  I’d love to do better this year, but I’m trying hard not to put pressure on myself for time.  Making the commitment to actually run is huge for me. 

So, I’m in week 5 of the Couch to 5K program.  I really do love this program.  The only thing I hate about this time of year is the fact that I need to run at 5am, and I just can’t bring myself to do it outside in the dark…so I hit the treadmill in our basement.

DSC_1472

It’s actually a great setup…I normally end up watching QVC.  But I still get bored.  I try really hard to get outside one day on the weekend.  This has helped a lot! 

In other healthy living news I had a surprise on my porch tonight.

DSC_0248

The nice people at Mix My Granola sent me a fabulous mix that I created myself.  I was impressed right away for two reasons:

1.  I just ordered this on Saturday….that’s fast delivery!

2.  The tube is HUGE.  I can’t believe how much they give you.  For what’s inside, it’s a great value. 

Here’s my mix.  I named it Mommy’s Mega Mix:

DSC_0250

Low fat granola, organic dates, peanut butter bites, bee pollen powder, and carob powder…oh yeah…and lots of LOVE!  I’m so excited to try it.  I plan to mix it in with my yogurt tomorrow as my afternoon snack.  I’m super curious if you can taste the bee pollen powder which is one of their new enhancers.  According to their website: 

Bee pollen may help build the immune system. It contains protein, carbohydrates, fatty acids, vitamin A, vitamin C, vitamin D, vitamin E, and lecithin, beta-carotene and selenium; all nutrients that have been shown to have powerful antioxidant effects in the body. Thus, it has been theorized that bee pollen could help treat conditions associated with free-radical damage, such as cancer, heart disease, and decreased mental function. Bee pollen has also been touted as an anti-aging supplement, and its proponents claim that it can prevent the weight gain, decreased libido, lethargy, and decline in muscle and skin tone associated with aging.

Check back tomorrow and see what I think. 

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “To Run or Not To Run….

  1. C25k is a fabulous program. My husband is using it to work up to running a 5k and he is steadily improving with each week of the routine.

    Btw…I can’t wait to hear what you think about the granola. The idea of coming up with your own blend is cool and would love to try it if it’s good.

  2. okay….you’re killing me.
    I started running 2 years ago (after JJ was born). I run in my garage on the TM and I started out with the C25K. LOVED it.
    I JUST signed up for my first 5K and it’s on Sunday. I am SO NERVOUS.
    and after 8 weeks you ran a 5K in 29 and change?

    I am just hoping to finish before 35. My best time is like 33 minutes (if I lie).
    I have asthma and I have to baby that a little so I run slow. slow and steady.

    I am SO SCARED I am going to be a laughing stock but I’ve also dragged my feet for over a year about running one silly race!
    I either run in the garage or on the TM at work at lunch (most days I do that) but I too try to get outside as much as I can (weekends).

    it’s really hard to fit it all in ….GOOD FOR YOU and I’ll be here cheering you on! (just behind you because you run FASTER than me by a LOT. haha

    LOVE Bee pollen! can’t wait to see if you like the granola! MMM.

    have a great night!

    • I feel the EXACT same way about racing Cindy. It terrifies me which is why I’m not trying to put any pressure on myself. I remember when I ran that 5K and they yelled out 9 mins at the 1 mile point, I was like, “what the heck…I need to SLOW down before I die”. I’ll be cheering you on, too. I can’t wait to hear how it goes…I’ll be t hinking about you on Sunday. :)

  3. carascravings

    Good on ya for getting into a running routine. I am one that hates running with a passion! I have to find other ways to exercise. Currently I do a mix of 30 day shred and yoga. I guess I just get bored with running and it hurts my knees…I often want to be one of those runners girls, but I don’t think that will ever happen :)

  4. Pingback: Apple Butter Happiness! | Food and Scales….and Puppy Dog Tales

Leave a Reply

