Apple Butter Happiness!

I wish you could smell my kitchen right now.  Not only does it feel like fall outside this morning, but it smells like fall because of what I just made in my crockpot.  Apple Butter….caramel apple butter to be precise.  This recipe is SUPER easy but it does take a few hours in the crockpot.  I started it last night before bed and was awakened to the smell of cinnamon and cloves this morning.  So good. 

DSC_0061

DSC_0264

DSC_0265

Caramel Apple Butter (in the crockpot)

14 large apples

2 tsp cinnamon

1 cup white sugar

1/2 cup brown sugar

1/2 tsp cloves

1 Tbsp vanilla

1 bag of caramels

Peel apples and cut into quarters.  Throw them in the crockpot with the vanilla.  Cover and cook on low for 8 hours (I did this last night and just set my alarm for 4:30am to continue)

When the cooking is done, mash the apples with a potato masher or a fork.  Stir in the sugars, cinnamon and cloves.  Cover again and cook for 6 more hours.  During the last hour, unwrap and throw in an entire bag of caramels.  Mix and recover to allow the caramels to melt into the apple butter.

DSC_0266

Someone was salivating just smelling it!

DSC_0258

This is so good!  I made this recipe last year and actually froze a few jars.  It worked very well.  I had apple butter until July of this year. 

DSC_0271

So good!  This would make an excellent gift with a little tag with the recipe.  

I put some on my maple pumpkin pancakes this morning.  I also added some of my granola mix from Mix My Granola

DSC_0267

Yum!  I have to say that this granola mix is some of the best that I’ve had.  I love the dates and the almonds and cranberries.  I can’t taste the bee pollen enhancer at all (which is nice, because I was a bit weirded out by it, but loved the health benefits).   But, my absolute favorite part (I can’t lie) are the peanut butter bites.  So good and so big!  I’ve been just eating this by the handful straight out of the can.  Honestly, I’m super impressed with Mix My Granola.  Not only is their granola great, but it’s organic, shipping is super fast, and the size they give you is incredible.  I’m definitely excited to try more combinations!

Okay, breakfast is over, the pups are at soccer practice with Daddy and…

DSC_0270

I’m hitting the treadmill for a quick run.  Have a great Saturday!!!!

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Apple Butter Happiness!

  1. Ugh
    I had to MEET you just when I was sugaring down.

    the apple butter sounds AMAAAAAAAAAAAAZING.

    I made sugar free cookies. I was sad.
    I feel good, but I am sad.

    plus guess what? I might have sprained one of my toes. nothing like being your best on your first race no?
    hehe

    Happy Saturday

  2. Aww cute pics! And those caramels! Those are dangerous to have around because I find myself popping them in my mouth like my life depends on it, lol! Mmm, I wish I could smell your house!

Leave a Reply

