I’m Alive, I’m Alive…..

and to make it up to you I have one of my favorite recipes to share. 

Whew…what a horrible week it has been.  It started with the stomach flu, progressed to strep throat (accompanied by fever, chills, exhaustion…you name it) and ended with an excruciating case of canker sores in my mouth (which I always get when my immune system is suppressed by sickness or stress).  Honestly it was insane.  I’m happy to report that I’m almost feeling normal this morning.  However my house sure isn’t.  I need at least the weekend to recover from just letting things go….it’s not pretty my friends! 

On to more important business.  My little guy Logan is the “Spotlight Kid” at daycare this week.  He has a bulletin board of pictures with information about him in his classroom and I wanted to celebrate the occasion by bringing in a yummy dish to share with his daycare friends and teachers.  My Pumpkin Gingerbread Trifle…okay, I lie…it’s Paula Dean’s Pumpkin Gingerbread Trifle, but that should just validate it more!  I started making this for Thanksgiving a few years back and  it was such a hit that I’ve been making it ever since.

DSC_0281Pumpkin Gingerbread Trifle (Paula Dean)

1 package of gingerbread mix (Paula says 2, but that’s WAY too much)

1 (5.1 ounce) package of cook and serve vanilla pudding mix (instant works too)

1 (30 ounce) can pumpkin pie filling

1/2 cup packed brown sugar

1/3 tsp cinnamon or cardamom

1 (12 ounce) container of frozen whipped topping

1/2 cup gingersnaps (optional)

Bake the gingerbread according to package directions and let cool.  Meanwhile, prepare the pudding and set aside to cool.  Stir the pumpkin pie filling, sugar, and cinnamon/cardamom into the pudding.  Crumble some gingerbread into the bottom of a large pretty bowl.  Pour 1/2 of the pudding mixture over the gingerbread, then add a layer of whipped topping.  Repeat with the remaining gingerbread, pudding, and whipped topping.  Sprinkle the top with crushed gingersnaps.  Refrigerate overnight.

This is SUPER easy.  Logan helped me very step of the way.

DSC_0274  He also taste tested…hey, he can’t have his friends eating crap! 

DSC_0277

DSC_0278

And I always have enough leftover to a) let the boys enjoy some pudding and b) make mama a little mini trifle to enjoy at 1am in the morning (okay, that part isn’t normal either, but it’s an example of how the week has gone).

DSC_0280

It’s great to be back.  Get your flu shots!  :) 

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “I’m Alive, I’m Alive…..

  1. Brooke

    any leftovers of that trifle to share with your sister? i’ll be over later today! :)

  2. Cindy

    oh I am so happy you are feeling better. What a week indeed!

    so YAY for lil Logan! how super fun is THAT???

    and your trifle (okay Paula Dean’s) we won’t tell. LOOOKS AMAZING.
    I have been eating low low carb and sugar foods for a few weeks and I am afraid a serving of that YUMMMMMY trifle would put my body in shock!
    but I want some SOOOO BAD.

    glad you are back! Missed ya
    xo

Leave a Reply

