My Exercise of Choice….Running!

Happy Saturday. I’m SO happy it’s the weekend! I wanted to share some information about my exercise of choice….running.  I’ll start off by saying that I have a real love hate relationship with running.  I love the way I feel after a nice sweaty run, I love when my muscles ache from running, I love the satisfaction of knowing I’ve gotten in a good workout, I love the solitude and peaceful feeling that comes over me when I run outside. 

However, I have to admit that a lot of times I HATE the thought of getting out of my warm bed to run, I hate the side cramps, the building up phase of running, and my tendency to push and compete with myself to the point of taking all of the fun out of the sport. 

That being said, I’ve recently taken some time away from running and I’m now ready to jump back in.  I started last week.  Normally I start with the Couch to 5K program which has always worked well for me.  But, this time I’m taking a different approach.  I’m just getting out there and doing what I can do….all while listening to my body and taking walk breaks when necessary. 

This morning I did my long run.  Don’t laugh fellow marathon bloggers….my long run was all of 2.5 miles.  Yes, this was long for me.  The Puppy Dogs and Puppy Daddy headed to grandma’s last night so I could take as long as I wanted.

I have to say…it was kind of tough.  I attribute a lot of it to the fact that my last run was Monday morning, but most of it to my poor fueling and hydration yesterday.  I’m not sure I even drank a full bottle of water.  I could feel it this morning!  I felt so sluggish.  Lesson learned!  I returned in a pool of sweat.

I kept smiling.  On the inside I really felt like this….

Anyway, I’m motivated to continue my running and enter the Turkey Trot at our local community college on Thanksgiving Day.  It’s a totally doable goal.  I ran in this once before with little training and my time was 29:35…not too bad for a first timer.  

After that crazy workout…I got busy on breakfast.  Oatmeal.  Like the rest of the blog community, I’m a fan!  I made it via Kath’s method which was fabulous.   

Oatmeal with 1/2 a banana cooked in, some cinnamon, peanut butter, blackberry sage jam from the Farmer's Market and a drizzle of maple syrup

 Yum!  Now, I’m ready to start my day.  I’m kind of lost as I don’t know what to do without the puppy dogs!  Oh, who am I kidding…my day is going to be filled with browsing the bookstore, lounging by my parents pool and preparing for my sunday school lesson tomorrow.  Have a wonderful Saturday!!!

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “My Exercise of Choice….Running!

  1. I feel the same way about running. I feel so awesome after I’ve actually gone for a run, but it’s sooo difficult to get myself going. I’m learning that hydration definitely helps. Food helps too! I just wish I had an extra hour in the mornings so I could eat something small and let myself digest first before going for a run!

    • I totally agree! I have trouble eating something and running out the door (or downstairs to the treadmill) right away. Aye! Maybe I need to try something small like half a banana. I’ll try that tomorrow morning!!!

Leave a Reply

