Tomato Quiche

With the days getting shorter, I’ve resigned myself to the fact that this is where I’ll be most mornings. 

DSC_1472

I’ve put it off as long as possible.  I’m definitely an outside runner.  I love the peaceful feeling of running outside first thing in the morning.  However, at 5:15am it’s too dark out to continue my weekday runs.  So, I’m going the safe route and starting on the treadmill.  I did 2 easy miles this morning and it felt great.  I made sure to hydrate adequately yesterday and it paid off! 

Dinner tonight was an old recipe passed down from my Great Aunt Betty.  Tomato Quiche.  Very easy and healthy. 

Tomato Quiche

1 pie crust

1 pack of mixed cheese

1 can of tomatoes with onions and peppers

oregano

salt and pepper

3 eggs

1 tsp sugar

bacon bits

3/4 c milk

Place half of the cheese in the bottom of pie crust

DSC_1445

On the stove, warm the tomatoes, oregano (to taste) and salt and pepper (to taste).  Pour this warm mix over the cheese in pie crust.  Add bacon bits. 

DSC_1448

Beat 3 eggs and milk together.  Add sugar to milk and eggs and mix well.  Pour egg mixture in pie pan.  Add the rest of the cheese package to the top. 

DSC_1451

Place on cookie sheet and bake for 40 minutes at 350 degrees.  This is so yummy and easy.  It’s great made in advance and re-heated.

DSC_1462

We enjoyed this with some Green Monsters this evening. 

DSC_1460

Got Green Monster

The gang loved it. 

DSC_1342

Oh wait….is that a chocolate cookie?  Puppy Daddy…..you’re busted!!!!!!!!!

But I promise, we had happy plates all around! 

DSC_1469

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

