Small Changes…Big Results

I mentioned in one of my first posts that since having my last little pup I really cleaned up my eating.  I switching to more natural, clean, healthy foods and less processed eats.  I started slowly and I have to say that since that time two years ago, I’ve come a long way.  I never set out saying that I would only eat fresh and organic food.  Rather I took baby steps…

IMG_0607

it’s really the only way to make lasting changes. 

So, I’ve started to do the same thing with the deeper development of my spiritual life.  I got the most ironic fortune today…

DSC_1479

Obviously our bodies aren’t the only things that need to be fed and nourished.  Our spirit is just as important.   For me, no amount of running and dieting and weight lifting can equal the feeling that I have by being fulfilled spiritually.  My faith is a critical piece of my healthy lifestyle. 

DSC_1482 

I have to admit that I’ve been guilty of straying from my spiritual upbringing.  Not that I’ve ever abandoned my beliefs completely, but I can say that I wasn’t moving through life with my faith and values as my guide.  I didn’t come back to my faith in a serious way until the birth of my first child Sam.  As I’ve said before….being a mom has changed me in more ways than I can articulate.  But one of the most profound ways was my desire to explore my spirituality and raise my children in a Christian family. 

Coming back to my faith has been a slow and steady process.  The easiest thing for me to start with was to be grateful and thank God every day for what he has given me.  To stop and smell the flowers…..

DSC_0187

DSC_0190 

…and maybe play in the birdbath…and enjoy all of life’s desserts…

DSC_0231

DSC_0841

And it doesn’t hurt to start a really great daily Bible Study. 

DSC_1480

This God Sightings bible study takes you through the entire Bible in one year.  But you know what….I’m not stressing if I skip a day or two or even a week.  Enriching your faith is a slow and steady process that is lifelong.  And I’m in this for the long haul. These small changes have made such an enormous difference in my life already.  Each day I try to practice my faith and get in touch with my spirituality.  Each day I give thanks for my Gifts and set an example for the people who mean the most to me.

IMG_1048

DSC_0124

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Small Changes…Big Results

  1. That’s just beautiful. And I’m with you, being a mom is absolutely life changing.

  2. Thank you for sharing your story of change. Spiritual health is such a large part of who we are. I don’t know where I would be without my faith and salvation.

    I have to remind myself daily not to beat myself up for skipping a work out or a quiet time or ……Thanks for this, “I’m not stressing if I skip a day or two or even a week. Enriching your faith is a slow and steady process that is lifelong”

    • Hi Amber. That’s so true. We’re nothing without our spirituality. I’ve definitely come to believe that. I’m so glad you can relate to my all or nothing issues. Haha. I think we all have those thoughts at times and it’s just not realistic. HE doesn’t expect us to be perfect….I love looking at this as a journey. Thanks for stopping by!!!

Leave a Reply

