The Lunchbox

Since the pups are so young and in daycare (a really nice one, where I don’t need to pack lunches yet) I’m the only one packing a lunch around these parts.  It always takes a bit of planning and deciding on grocery day but typically I stick with the same type of eats

DSC_1474

1/3 cup of rolled oats, a sprinkle of Red Mill’s 10 Grain cereal, some cinnamon and 1 tsp of brown sugar.  I heat this with hot water at work and then add my nut butter and sometimes 1 tsp of jam.  I used to put all of this in a Ziploc baggie, but I’m working “greening” myself and our house.  🙂 

DSC_1485

Next up is the “lunch” in lunchbox.  One of my favorites is a knock off of a Greek Wrap that I have gotten many times at the Common Market.  It’s a spinach wrap (sometimes I use a whole one, but lots of times I use half), a huge amount of hummus (I’m loving artichoke and spinach right now), cucumber slices and feta cheese.  Sometimes I even add carrot shavings or chopped tomatoes).  Yum.  This is so good and so filling.

DSC_1475 

And almost always an apple with almond butter.  Pink ladies are my favorite!

DSC_1476

The afternoon snack is almost always a yogurt.  I have problems with frequent canker sores, so I try to have some type of yogurt at least 3-4 times per week.  I’m liking with wallaby organic variety, but my favorites are Chobani!  I top them with my homemade granola and sometimes a scoop of nut butter. 

And I pack it all in this handsome thing. 

DSC_1473

I need a new one don’t you think?  Any suggestions????

Today’s going to be a busy one.  We’re having guests over for one huge crab feed.  Stop back tomorrow for a recap!  Happy Saturday!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

