Stuffed Peppers

After a long week at the beach eating a lot of meals out that were rich and caloric, I was craving a slow cooked light meal for dinner.  One of my favorites lately is stuffed peppers. I got the recipe from our church cookbook and it’s a winner!  The only downside is that it takes a while to cook…well, it seems like a while to me since we get home so late in the evening.  So, to speed things up I always prepare these the night before and then cook them the next night. 

DSC_1954 

Stuffed Peppers

2-3 large green peppers (I always use 3)

1/2 lb ground chuck (I used venison)

1 sm. onion, minced

5 crushed crackers (1/2 cup)

3/4 tsp salt

1/4 tsp pepper

1/4 c uncooked rice (I used jasmine)

1/4 c water

1 1/2 c tomato sauce

1 small clove garlic, minced

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Cut green peppers in halves lengthwise, remove seeds and cores. 

DSC_1955

Mix raw ground chuck, onion, crackers, salt, pepper, uncooked rice, and water. 

DSC_1957

Fill pepper halves with meat mixture.  Place in buttered casserole dish. 

DSC_1958

Mix tomato sauce and garlic. 

DSC_1959

Spoon over peppers.

DSC_1960

Bake covered at 350 degrees for 1 hour.  Uncover and bake 15 more minutes.  When the peppers have about 2 minutes to go, I like to sprinkle some cheddar cheese on the top.  I tried one with pepper jack cheese this time, but I have to admit that I liked the cheddar ones better. 

DSC_1964

A great and filling dinner.  These are also yummy warmed up for lunch. 

DSC_1965 

On a different topic, I just finished the book Bringing Up Boys by James Dobson. 

DSC_1963

I loved it.  I highly recommend it to anyone raising children (not just boys) and want to instill morals and discipline in.  My favorite parts were when Dr. Dobson discussed the importance of male role models in boys lives from the very beginning.  A great read…definitely check it out!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

