The Benefits of Lemon Water

What a soggy day it’s been here in Maryland.  We feel like a bunch of drowned rats over here.  Traffic was horrible getting home and by the time we walked through the door there was NO WAY I wanted to cook dinner.  We decided to order from one of our favorite local restaurants….Hempen Hill BBQ.  Don’t let the name fool you.  You can really get some great non-meat items at this joint.  Andy even commented tonight about the eclectic group….meat and potato guys and hippies.  Who would have thought they’d frequent the same establishments. 

My dinner was the Rainbow De-Lite sandwich with a sweet potato on the side. 

DSC_0136

DSC_0137

According to the menu, the Rainbow De-lite is a Panini pressed ciabatta roll layered with fresh sliced cucumbers, red onions
and tomatoes topped with pepper jack, cheddar and bleu cheese.  Hands down this is my favorite sandwich to date.  The bread is so chewy, but a little crisp and the combination of blue cheese, cheese, and the veggies is phenomenal. 

Since I’m going low sugar I took my sweet potato with just a bit of butter.  Surprisingly it was…..sweet….very sweet! 

I also had a few bites of Brunswick Stew.  This is a traditional Southern BBQ soup that is tomato-based and dates back to
the 1800’s.  It resembles a thick vegetable soup that’s chock full of BBQ meats, beans and veggies.  This stew is delicious and very filling.  Perfect for a rainy night! 

The boys enjoyed Smokey Mac’N Cheese and cooked carrots.  I think they enjoyed it!

DSC_0141

I’ve been doing something a little different for my weeknight night cap.  Warm lemon water. 

DSC_0144

I’ve been researching the benefits of drinking lemon water and I was kind of surprised at all of the information I found.  According to various sources it helps with fat burning, brings the body’s pH into balance, cleanses the liver and kidneys, helps with skin problems, helps stomach problems (such as bloating and heartburn), helps with throat infections, acts as a blood purifier, helps with constipation….the list goes on and on.  I have to admit, my research had me at “helps with fat burning”, but with all the other benefits, who wouldn’t squeeze some lemon in the water twice a day?

DSC_0147

There are many more lemon remedies published by author Jethro Kloss in his book Back to Eden.  I have to say that lemon was a lifesaver to me during both of my pregnancies.  I was blessed and rarely had any nausea or vomiting, but in the first few weeks when I felt nauseous I would suck on lemons constantly.  I shared this with one of my favorite bloggers recently.  I think she found this to work as well. 

Plus, there’s something very soothing about a warm cup of lemon water right before bed. 

DSC_0148

Does anyone else do this regularly?  I’m curious to see if you’ve noticed any health benefits. 

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “The Benefits of Lemon Water

  1. I would love that sandwich as well! I always order iced water with lemon in restaurants but for some reason rarely do it at home (actually the reason is laziness). I wonder if it’s better to drink it with cold or warm water? You also had me at “helps with fat burning” so I think I might start drinking lemon water more regularly now!

    • Based on the research I did it either said warm or lukewarm lemon water. Something about cold beverages taking more energy to metablize. I’m not sure…I need to look into that some more.

  2. Sallie

    Love, love, love warm lemon water. It’s so soothing. It’s a nice night cap, but I like it first thing in the morning. Really gets the, um, system moving 🙂 I will say that it makes me feel a little cleaner on the inside, and it’s definitely nice to have a bit of flavor when plain water gets boring.

Leave a Reply

