“D” is for…

Damn good dinner on a week night (if I do say so myself).  Okay, I promise, that’s the last of the alphabet.  I’m brain washed by a preschooler…somebody help me! 

DSC_1342

Okay, back to that dinner.  The temperature is supposed to get down into the 30’s tonight in western MD.  So, I decided a nice, warm comfort dish it was….shepherds pie…made with deer meat of course! 

DSC_0134_02

I was out of peas and carrots so I substituted and used some frozen corn.  Still good!

DSC_0135_01

Topped with mashed potatoes and grated cheddar cheese.  It was delicious.  Here’s the recipe:

Shepherd’s Pie

12 ounces ground lean beef

1/2 cup chopped onion

1 cup sliced baby carrots adn frozen baby peas

1/2 cup low sodium chicken broth

2 cups mashed potatoes

cheese (optional)

Preheat oven to 375 degrees.  Brown meat in a skillet.  Add onion; cook, stirring constantly until onion is softened.  Add carrots and peas (or corn).  Continue to cook and stir until vegetable are tender.  Add broth; bring mixture to a boil.  Reduce heat to low; let simmer until most of the liquid is absorbed (about 10 mins).  Transfer mixture to casserole dish or pie pan.  Top mixture with mashed potatoes and grated cheese (if desired).  Bake until heated through, 15-20 minutes. 

There you have it…the ultimate comfort food.  And because I had two rotting bananas on the counter, I decided to make banana bread…with a twist. 

Banana Bread (with chocolate chips)

1/3 c applesauce (I used my homemade applesauce)

1/2 c sugar

2 egg whites

1 3/4 c flour

1 tsp baking powder

1/2 tsp baking soda

1/2 tsp salt

1-2 mashed bananas

3/4 cup chocolate chips

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Cream together applesauce and sugar.  Add egg whites and mix well.  Add salt, baking powder, baking soda, and flour.  Add bananas one at a time and mash with a potato masher until smooth.  Add chocolate chips and combine. 

Bake in a greased loaf pan for 45 minutes. 

DSC_0154_01

DSC_0157

Oh my pups!  This is great.  I’m eating a slice right now spread with peanut butter!  Please…try this ASAP.  You won’t be disappointed.  It’s super moist.  I think it has to do with using the applesauce. 

11 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

11 responses to ““D” is for…

  1. OH MY

    but …BUT is THAT one of those sugar cookies your little one is enjoying

    I DIE for those. I don’t buy them..ever
    they give me the sweats.
    soft fluffy floury sugar cookie with the perfect frosting on top AND sprinkles.

    sorry.
    I know your banana bread rocks (and I might just have to make some tomorrow)
    yes, I will now!

    but that cookie and that smile made my day!
    happy almost Friday.

    • Oh yes….one of the crack cookies…that’s what we call them. Sam LOVES them and was so happy that I gave him one before dinner….bad mommy! I’m so happy he made you smile…he’s such a sweetheart! Happy almost friday to you…thank goodness!

  2. Haven’t had deer for some time – my parents used to have it on hand back in the day. It looks good in the Shepherd’s pie.

    That banana bread looks might tasty too.

  3. Applesauce does awesome things in baked goods! The bread looks fantastic! Chocolate chips add a nice bit of sweet too 🙂 Hope you have a fantastic weekend

  4. I was all ‘oohing’ and ‘ahhing’ over your shepherds pie. And then I saw the banana bread, and now I’m drooling.

    Both sound fabulous! Shepherds pie is such a warm, delicious autumn meal, and this recipe sounds simple and perfect. 😀

  5. Pingback: Vitamin D Day « a sparkle a day

Leave a Reply

